Romance

Revenge by E.M. Denning

He grinned and opened my door for me, then walked around the other side and climbed into the driver’s seat. He started the truck. “Ready to go home, sister.”
I recoiled. “Oh god, Hunter. Don’t call me that ever again.”
He threw his head back and laughed. “This is an interesting twist of fate, isn’t it?”
“You didn’t know?” I found it almost impossible to believe our parents kept it secret.
Hunter shook his head. “Not a clue.”
“Nice surprise, huh?”
Hunter laughed. “Could be worse.” He glanced at me. “My new stepsister is kind of hot.”
I clasped my hands together and kept them planted on my lap. I stared out the window.
“We didn’t do anything wrong, Summer.”
“I know that.” I glanced at Hunter. He clenched his teeth and tightened his grip on the steering wheel.
“Then what’s with the look?”
“What look?” I bristled.
“You look like you just killed your dog.”
There he was. The Hunter I was used to dealing with. The relentless ass who tossed barbs at me whenever he got the chance.
“Look, Hunter. I don’t give a shit if you don’t like the look on my face.” It started to bubble out. I couldn’t stop myself even if I wanted to. If my mom and I shared one trait, it was not knowing when to stop talking. “I’m not so good with change, okay? So now, instead of going home I find out that my mother has moved. Not only has she moved, but she’s also remarried. Now I have a new stepdad, who has a son, who I fucked the night before.” I pulled my hair up into a ponytail. “So excuse me if I’m not great company right now.”
“You’re angry with me.”
“No.”
“Admit it, Summer. You’re mad at me.”
“I’m not mad at you. I’m mad at myself, Hunter. Don’t you get it? Not everything is about you.”
Except this was. He was wrong. I wasn’t angry at him. I was mad at myself for being stupid and reckless the night before. I was even angrier with my mom. It was a sad, sick twist of fate that the only guy who ever made me feel alive was now my stepbrother.
Hunter went quiet. It was a few minutes before he spoke again. “You’re not the only one whose plans got shit on, you know.”
There it was. The walls were up again.

Leave a Reply

